

# Minutes of the Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Committee

(to be confirmed at the next meeting)

Date: Thursday, 14 May 2015

Venue: Collingwood Room - Civic Offices, Fareham

#### PRESENT:

Councillor Mrs P M Bryant (Chairman)

Councillor T M Cartwright, MBE (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors: Mrs S M Bayford, Miss S M Bell, Mrs M E Ellerton, M J Ford, JP, T J Howard, L Keeble, Mrs K Mandry and D J Norris



## 1. APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from Councillor Mrs S Pankhurst.

#### 2. MINUTES

RESOLVED that the minutes of the meeting of the Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Committee held on 17 March 2015 be confirmed and signed as a correct record.

### 3. APPOINTMENT OF LICENSING PANEL

The Committee was reminded that it had decided to appoint a Licensing Panel with rotating membership to hear and determine various applications under the Licensing Act 2003, applications to drive or operate hackney carriage or private hire vehicles and applications under the Gambling Act 2005. Members were reminded that, under the provisions of the Licensing Act 2003, such a Panel may only comprise three members.

**RESOLVED** that:-

- (a) a Licensing Panel be appointed for 2015/16 with those terms of reference and delegated powers previously determined by the Committee on 1 February 2005, as amended on 23 January 2007 and subsequently confirmed by the Council on 15 February 2007;
- (b) Councillor Mrs P M Bryant be appointed Chairman of the Licensing Panel for 2015/16; and
- (c) members of the Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Committee be appointed to the Licensing Panel, such that it comprises the Chairman and two other members of the Committee, appointed on a rotating basis, subject to their having completed the necessary training.

#### 4. APPOINTMENT OF TRADING CONCESSIONS PANEL

The Committee was reminded that it had decided to appoint a Trading Concessions Panel to deal with occasional issues arising from the grant of catering concessions in West Street, Fareham. The Committee was invited to appoint the Panel for 2015/16.

**RESOLVED** that:-

- (a) Councillors Miss S M Bell, Mrs P M Bryant, T M Cartwright, Mrs M E Ellerton and Mrs K Mandry be appointed to the Licensing Trading Concessions Panel for 2015/16; and
- (b) Councillor Mrs P M Bryant be appointed Chairman of the Licensing Trading Concessions Panel for 2015/16.

(The meeting started at 3.21pm and ended at 3.26pm).